Digital Scrapbooking · Documenting

Letters from the Mother to the Daughter…

I always begin my baby’s baby book with a small letter for the two months. It helps me express how I feel, and is a great beginner. For the layout, I usually keep it simple with a small photo, with a coloured border. The border usually matches the dress she is wearing in the photo chosen, or blends with the general theme I choose for her.

screen-shot-2016-06-13-at-11-11-54-pmThis was done for her fourth book, and this is the format I usually follow. The text is kept simple and helps me start the book. I usually write the book from my view point, or sometimes add comments from a third person, say her dad or grand mom. I am always worried of being repetitive, so here are all the four first pages printed so far.

screen-shot-2016-10-20-at-11-26-37-pm

The second one was more bold, and bit longer. I guess confidence comes with time and experience. 😛

screen-shot-2016-10-20-at-11-28-57-pmA small heading (if you are having a difficult time finding a befitting name for your book, search online – you would be surprised to see the very many names that crop up) followed with my letter and a signing off note, is my style.

For the sixth month and one year, I couldn’t stop myself from writing a clichéd letter of how fast time flies. But, having a baby and seeing them grow keeps you reminding that time indeed fly. I so wanted to refrain from those clichéd sentences, but it just came pouring out and here is an ultra-long letter I wrote for her 6th month book.

screen-shot-2016-10-20-at-11-30-08-pmInsha Allah, I plan to continue this little letter writing ritual in her second year book as well. Without these books, these significant little moments of today will become a memory buried deep under the debris of everyday happenings.

Happy Weekend everyone. This week sure flew by fast!

 

One thought on “Letters from the Mother to the Daughter…

Leave a Reply

